The MTA offers various scholarships on a regular basis to encourage performance experience and further study opportunities for aspiring young musicians and vocalists.

These scholarships are offered in a variety of instrumental and vocal fields. Some scholarships are offered every year, and some are offered in alternate years.

The Elizabeth Todd Lieder Prize

The Elizabeth Todd Lieder Prize, in Memory of Geoffrey Parsons, is open to the singing students of both members and non-members of the Music Teachers’ Association of NSW Ltd. This Scholarship will be offered to students as part of a 4 day "Festival of Art Song" which is to to be held at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. Entries for 2022 have now closed. The Scholarship winners will be announced on 2 October, 2022.

The Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship

The Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship is to enable study in Australia or abroad, by a student of any instrument or voice. The Scholarship is established by means of a bequest to the Music Teachers’ Association of New South Wales Ltd by the late Margaret Chalmers. This Scholarship was awarded in 2022 at the Advanced Student Concert on 23 July.

Scholarships sponsored by the Newcastle Branch

  • Errol Collins Award for Violin and Viola
  • MTA Newcastle Branch Piano Scholarship incorporating the Joyce Blewitt Award and the Nan Price Memorial Scholarship
  • Wendy Ireland Award for Young Cellists

These Scholarships have been awarded for 2022.

Full registration details and regulations for all Scholarships can be found under "What's Happening".