Michael Power

Michael Power

Michael Power is a collaborative pianist and teacher in Hobart, Tasmania. Moving from Newcastle in 2020, Michael held the position of School Accompanist and Teacher of Piano at Newcastle Grammar School from 2007, and at the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music.

Michael studied a Bachelor of Music with Dr Gian-Franco Ricci and Helen English at the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music, during which time he was awarded the Nan Price Memorial Scholarship. He continued in the Honours program, specialising in chamber music and collaborative piano studies with Gabriella Pusner. Michael majored in Italian language and Chamber Music at the Accademia Europea di Firenze Intensive Winter School, Italy.

Michael has performed with artists such Sally Walker and Andy Firth, and performed newly commissioned works by Australian composers including Elena Kats-Chernin, Paul Jarman and Jim Coyle. He has performed in the USA and China as pianist with Newcastle Grammar School, and performed as soloist in works including Saint-Saens' Carnival of the Animals and Bernstein’s Wonderful Town.

Michael was the Vice President of Music Teachers' Association of NSW, and held the position of President of the Newcastle Branch. He has given masterclasses, adjudicated competitions, has performed on local radio and appears on Newcastle City Choir's 60 Year Anniversary album.

Michael was a 2019 Community Director’s Award Program Recipient for study in arts leadership and program governance, and subsequently holds a Diploma of Business (Governance).

Since relocating to Hobart in 2020, Michael continues his work as both collaborative pianist and piano teacher as the official pianist for 2021 Festival of Voices, is repetiteur for the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra (TSO) Chorus, and has performed alongside pianist Karen Smithies in the TSO. Michael is the pianist for Co-op Chorale led by Jane Edwards and is the Vice President of the Tasmanian Music Teachers' Association. In 2022, Michael joins the team of piano examiners with AMEB Tasmania.