The Scholarships Showcase Concert – Zenith Theatre – 30 August 2015

The Scholarships Showcase Concert – Zenith Theatre – 30 August 2015

Eight finalists performed in the Showcase Concert, four in the Elizabeth Todd Lieder Prize in Memory of Geoffrey Parsons, and four in the Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship.

The finalists included in the Lieder section were Ryan O'Donnell and Melissa Field; Laura King and Benjamin Burton; Deepka Ratra and Benjamin Au; and Clare Richards and Paulina Smirnov.

The finalists in the Margaret Chalmers included pianists Joy Yang, Wenny Qu and Maryann Gou and flautist Naomi Ng.
The winners were:

The Elizabeth Todd Lieder Prize with prize money of $2000 to the vocalist and $2000 to the accompanist went to:

Vocalist Clare Richards performing Allerseelen [Strauss] and Gretchen am Spinnrade [Schubert] and Accompanist Paulina

The Margaret Chalmers Memorial Scholarship with prize money of $3000 went to:

Pianist Maryann Gou performing Prelude No.2 [Rachmaninov] and Gnomenreigen [Liszt]

The adjudicators were Dr Christine Logan, Senior Lecturer in Music in the School of the Arts and Media at the University of NSW; Dr William Clark music educator, conductor, lecturer, retired Director of Music of The Scots College and a former MTA President; and Mr Stephen Mould Senior Lecturer in Conducting and Opera Studies and Chair of Opera Production at the Sydney Conservatorium. The adjudicators praised the winners and commented on their performance standard and professionalism.

Needless to say, the winners were delighted with their prize money which will be of great assistance in furthering their music studies.

Although he was unable to attend the concert, MTA Patron Patrick Thomas AM, MBE sent a message that was read to the finalists, part of which is reproduced below:

Many fine artists of today have benefitted from such competitions as the MTA’s, and I would be most grateful if my congratulations and good wishes were conveyed to all who have reached today’s Finals. And to the winners, my hope is that you will continue to work hard, knowing that no matter how naturally gifted you may be, music demands from all its servants, nothing less than total dedication. Yet, in return, its rewards are beyond comparison.

Finalists with adjudicator Mr Stephen Mould

Finalists with adjudicator Mr Stephen Mould who has just announced the winners of the Lieder prize.

MTA President Dr Rita Crews OAM with the winners

MTA President Dr Rita Crews OAM with the winners,
L-R: vocalist Clare Richards and accompanist Paulina Smirnov who won the Lieder prize; pianist Maryann Gou who won the Chalmers prize.

Leave a Reply